What Is My Personal Injury Case Worth?

Millions of accidents happen every year and no amount of money can restore a person’s dignity, heal broken bones, and it most definitely cannot bring back the loss of a loved one. Unfortunately, it is the only way that we can try to compensate for these injuries and losses, emotional or physical.

Personal Injury claims are not typically valued until after the injured party has ended medical treatment; Because of this, it is difficult to estimate how much will be recovered from the claim until the injury is stabilized. Some factors the Attorney’s at The Injury Legal Center use to determine the worth of a claim include amount of medical bills, lost wages, scarring, replacement value of lost personal property, and the length and extent of disability.

Contributory and comparative are the two types of negligence that can be applied to personal injury cases. A claim may follow a modified or pure version of theses types depending on which state the party resides in.

The different between contributory and comparative:

Comparative negligence.  Florida follows a pure comparative negligence policy.  This means that an injured party can file a Florida personal injury claim for damages, even if they are mostly at fault for the accident. However, any amount of fault they are assigned will be deducted from the final judgment.

Florida follows a pure comparative negligence system. Florida Statute 768.81 provides clear guidance on the issue. As long as the claim is filed in the state of Florida, it will fall under the comparative system, regardless of where the defendant is from.

Variables that affect the value of a personal injury claim:

  • Who was at-fault?
    Was the responsibility 100%, shared 50/50, 90/10?
  • Medical treatments resulting from accident and future treatments? X-Rays, CT scans, MRI’s
  • How serious are the injuries?
    Loss of life, limb, broken bones
  • Evidence to explain how the injury affected your life?

Photos of bruises, scars, casts, financial or marital problem

The Attorney’s at The Injury Legal Center believe that the best settlements are achieved through hard work and dedication. Though not every personal injury claim goes to trial, the Attorneys prepare and evaluate each claim as if it would and will fight for every dollar you deserve.

 

New Florida Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Laws

NOTE: NEW FLORIDA PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION LAW —-> Beginning January 1, 2013:


You may be able to receive $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection benefits, but ONLY IF:

  • within 14 days of your accident you are seen by a medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic medicine, a dentist, physicians assistant or registered nurse practitioner,
  • that person makes a finding that your injuries constitute a need for Immediate Medical Attention such that the absence of medical care would result in (the finding of an Emergency Medical Condition or “EMC”):
    • serious jeopardy to health
    • Serious impairment of bodily functions, or
    • serious dysfunction of bodily organ or parts
    • and you receive treatment within those 14 days.

If you do not receive treatment within those 14 days, you will receive NO personal injury benefits. If you do not see the correct physician within 14 days or that physician does not rule your injuries to constitute an EMC, but you do receive treatment within 14 days of the accident you will be limited to only $2,500.00